Worldleish

An International Congress on Leishmania & Leishmaniasis

Why ?  Cutaneous, mucocutaneous and visceral leishmaniases are serious diseases, which are vector-borne and wide-spread in more than 90 countries, putting 350 million population at risk. WHO estimates an annual incidence of 2 million and a total of 12 million current cases. The causative agents are various species of trypanosomatid protozoa in the genus of Leishmania, which are excellent models for aspects of laboratory studied in cell/molecular biology, biochemistry, immunology of host-parasite interactions.

Who ? Anyone interested in Leishmania and leishmaniasis is welcome to participate, including individuals of private and public academic institutions, charitable organizations, advocacy groups, government officials/ representatives, for-profit private sectors and their friends/affiliates.

 When/where ? Every four years in a country endemic to leishmaniasis.

What ? Bring laboratory researchers and field workers from all disciplinary areas together for sharing new discoveries and exchange of new ideas. Provide opportunities of international collaboration, industrial participation, charitable donation and training of the next generation.

FOUNDERS

Prof. Dr. M. Ali OZCEL
President, Turkish Society for Parasitology
183 sok. No:10, Boztok apt. K:1, D:14
Bornova-Izmir, TURKEY
ozcel@mail.ege.edu.tr
 
Prof. KP CHANG
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Chicago Medical School
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
3333 Green Bay Rd, North Chicago, IL, USA
KwangPoo.Chang@rosalindfranklin.edu
Prof. Dr. M. Ziya ALKAN
Dept. of Parasitology
Ege University Medical Faculty
Bornova, Izmir, 35100 Turkey
m.ziya.alkan@ege.edu.tr
Prof. Dr. Yusuf OZBEL
Dept. of Parasitology
Ege University Medical Faculty
Bornova, Izmir, 35100 Turkey
yusuf.ozbel@ege.edu.tr
 
   

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

WL6 International Scientific Committee Members (2016)
 
Kwang Poo Chang, PhD (Organizer)
Professor of Microbiology/Immunology
Chicago Medical School/RFUMS
N Chicago, IL 60064, USA
Kwangpoo.chang@roslaindfranklin.edu
 
Edgar M. Carvalho, MD
Professor of Medicine and Clinical Immunology
Federal University of Bahia Medical School, and
Associate Member of  FIOCRUZ-Ba
Salvador, Bahia – Brazil
edgar@ufba.br
 
Joachim Clos, PD Dr. rer. nat.
Senior Principal Investigator
Bernhard Nocht Institute for Tropical Medicine
Bernhard Nocht St. 74
D-20359 Hamburg, Germany
clos@bni-hamburg.de
 
Philippe Desjeux, MD
12, les grands champs
899 rue Jean de Gingins
01220 Divonne, France
Tel: 06 73 52 99 44
pdesjeux@gmail.com
 
Jean-Claude Dujardin, PhD
Institute of Tropical Medicine
Dept of Biomedical Sciences, Head
Molecular Parasitology Unit, Head
Nationalestraat, 155
B-2000 Antwerpen, Belgium
jcdujardin@itg.be
  
Luigi Gradoni, PhD
Unit of Vector-Borne Diseases & International Health
MIPI Department, Istituto Superiore di Sanitą
Viale Regina Elena, 299
00161 Roma, Italy
E-mail: luigi.gradoni@iss.it
 
Charles L. Jaffe, PhD
National Center for Leishmaniasis
Kuvin Centre for Study of Tropical & Infectious Diseases
Chairperson, Dept. Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
IMRIC, P.O. Box 12272
Hebrew University-Hadassah Medical School
Jerusalem 9112102 Israel
cjaffe@cc.huji.ac.il
 
Yoshitsugu Matsumoto, PhD
Professor
Department of Molecular Immunology and Parasitology
The University of Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan
aysmatsu@mail.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp
 
Diane McMahon-Pratt, PhD
Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health
Yale School of Public Health
Yale University
New Haven, CT 06520-8034, USA
diane.mcmahon-pratt@yale.edu
 
Michael A. Miles, PhD
Professor of Medical Protozoology
Department of Pathogen Molecular Biology
Faculty of Infectious and Tropical Diseases
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
London WC1 E7HT, UK
E mail: michael.miles@lshtm.ac.uk
 
Henry W. Murray, M.D.
Arthur R. Ashe Professor of Medicine
Attending Physician, New York Presbyterian Hospital
Weill Cornell Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College
1300 York Avenue, Box 125
New York, NY 10065
hwmurray@med.cornell.edu
 
Peter J. Myler, PhD
Professor & Director of Core Services
Director of Seattle Structural Genomics Center for Infectious Disease (SSGCID) 
Seattle BioMed
307 Westlake Ave N., Suite 500
Seattle, WA  98109-5219, USA 
peter.myler@seattlebiomed.org
 
Yusuf Ozbel, PhD
Professor of Parasitology
Ege University Faculty of Medicine
Bonova, Izmir, Turkey
yusuf.ozbel@ege.edu.tr
 
Barbara Papadopoulou, B. Pharm., PhD
Professor and Director
Division of Infectious Diseases and Immunology
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Québec (CHUQ) Research Centre
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Research Centre in Infectious Disease, CHUL Research Centre
2705 Laurier Blvd. Quebec, QC, Canada G1V 4G2
Email:
barbara.papadopoulou@crchul.ulaval.ca
 
Steven G. Reed, PhD
President and Chief Scientific Officer
Founder, Infectious Disease Research Institute
Seattle, Washington 98104, USA
SReed@idri.org
 
Syamal Roy, PhD
Chairman, Infectious Diseases Group, Indian Inst of Chem Biol.
Chief Scientist, CSIR-IICB & Professor of Biological Sciences, AcSIR
J.C. Bose Fellow, Dept of Science & Technology, Govt of India
Jadavpur, Kolkata-700032, India
sroy@iicb.res.in
 
David Sacks, PhD
Head, Intracellular Parasite Biology Sect
Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
National Institute of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-0425, USA
E-mail: dsacks@niaid.nih.gov
 
Abhay R Satoskar MD, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair for Research
University Pathology Services Endowed Anatomic Pathology Professor
Departments of Pathology and Microbiology
Wexner Medical Center
The  Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio 43210
Abhay.Satoskar@osumc.edu
 
Lynn Soong, MD, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair for Research
Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Director, Microbiology & Immunology Graduate Program
Director, NIAID T35 Infectious Diseases & Inflammatory Disorder Training Program
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX 77555-1070
lysoong@utmb.edu
 
Shyam Sundar, MD
Professor of Medicine
Institute of Medical Sciences,
Banaras Hindu University
Varanasi - 221 005, India
drshyamsundar@hotmail.com
 
Yara M. Traub-Cseko, PhD
Senior Research Scientist
Laboratório Biol Mol de Parasit Vetor
Instituto Oswaldo Cruz, Fiocruz
Rio de Janeiro, RJ, 21045-900, Brasil
E-mail: ytraub@ioc.fiocruz.br
 
Petr Volf, PhD
Professor and Head
Department of Parasitology
Faculty of Science
Charles University
Vinicna 7, 128 44 Praha 2
Czech Republic.
E-mail: volf@cesnet.cz
 
Mary E. Wilson, MD
Professor
Internal Medicine/Microbiology
University of Iowa
SW34Q General Hospital
Iowa City, IA 52242, USA
Email:
mary-wilson@uiowa.edu